Wyoming Public Service Commission


Chairman Mary Throne

Governor Gordon appointed Mary Throne to the Wyoming Public Service Commission, effective March 1, 2019. He reappointed her in 2021 for a full 6-year term. She began her term as Chairman of the Commission in March 2023. Mary serves as the Chair of the Western Interconnect Regional Advisory Body (WIRAB), is a member of the Western Interstate Energy Board’s Committee on Regional Electric Power Cooperation, serves as chair of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners (NARUC) Clean Coal and Carbon Management Subcommittee, serves on NARUC’s Board of Directors, is a member of NARUC’s National Council on Electricity Policy. Mary has served as a Co-Vice Chair of NARUC’s Energy Resources and Environment Committee and as a member of its FERC/NARUC Transmission Task Force, and is a current member of New Mexico State University’s Center for Public Utilities Advisory Council.   

Mary received her Bachelor of Arts Degree in History from Princeton University in 1982 and her Juris Doctor from Columbia Law School in 1988.   A Campbell County, Wyoming native, Mary returned to the state in 1992.  Prior to joining the Commission, Mary represented the Wyoming Department of Environmental Quality, Air Quality Division in the Office of the Attorney General and in private practice, she assisted a variety of energy, mineral and business clients with environmental compliance and permitting, industrial siting, and other regulatory issues.  For ten years, Mary represented Cheyenne’s House District 11 in the Wyoming House of Representatives, serving as Minority Floor Leader for four years. Working in a bipartisan fashion, she played a key role in developing Wyoming’s landmark carbon capture and sequestration laws. Mary and her husband, Kevin Boyce, live in Cheyenne and have 3 sons, Michael, Tarver, and Patrick. 

Term Expires March 1, 2027

Deputy Chairman Chris Petrie

Governor Gordon appointed Chris Petrie to the Public Service Commission effective February 1, 2021. Petrie received a B. A. from the University of Wyoming in political economy (‘90) and a J. D. from the University of Wyoming College of Law (‘93). He has served  in various positions at the PSC since 2002.   

Term Expires March 1, 2025

Commissioner Mike Robinson

Governor Gordon appointed Mike Robinson to the Public Service Commission effective March 1, 2019. Mike received a Bachelor of Arts degree from Michigan State University in political science (1990) and a Juris Doctorate from the University of Wyoming College of Law (1993). Mike began his legal career as the law clerk for Wyoming Supreme Court Justice G. Joseph Cardine and, after his retirement, Larry L. Lehman. From 1996-1998, Mike worked as a staff attorney for the Wyoming Public Service Commission. He returned to the Wyoming Supreme Court to be a permanent clerk for the Honorable William U. Hill. In 2007, Mike went to the Wyoming Attorney General’s Office where he worked in the Civil Division representing a diverse agency clientele, including the Public Service Commission, the Secretary of State, State Auditor, and the Business Council. In 2016, Mike moved to the Water and Natural Resources Division where he represented the State of Wyoming in federal environmental litigation. Mike lives in Cheyenne and spends as much time as he can with his teenage sons, Tyler and Travis.

Term Expires March 1, 2029

Wyo.Gov       Citizen       Visitor       Privacy Policy      Contact Us 

Sign Up for Email Notifications via GovDelivery

In order to comply with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), the information contained within this website is available in alternate formats upon request.Please send your comments and suggestions to the Wyoming Public Service Commission at wyoming_psc@wyo.gov